Kata is a sequence of combat moves to introduce the student to fighting multiple opponents. The first kata, Taikyoku Shodan, helps the student learn the basic principles of kata, with combinations broken up into sequences, and helps them understand how to move around the floor effectively. The kata gradually expand and become more technically difficult as the grades progress, each one offering a different learning exercise for the student.

When performing kata, the student must treat it as combat in order for it to become effective. They must visualise the incoming attacker and understand the application and analysis (bunkai) of the moves.
At North East Wado Ryu, advanced students perform up to 16 kata but for the purposes of 1st dan grading, only the first 11 are required. Below is information on which kata are required to pass the different grades.
Pinan Sandan
Pinan Yondan
Taikyoku Shodan
Ku Shanku
Nai Hanchi

8th Kyu

5th Kyu

2nd Kyu

Pinan Nidan
Pinan Yondan
Pinan Godan
Ku Shanku

7th Kyu

4th Kyu

1st Kyu

Pinan Shodan
Pinan Sandan
All Preceding
Ku Shanku

6th Kyu

3rd Kyu

1st Dan